Former Student, Derek Exercise Science department

Derek, give a little background history of yourself.

26 years old, Born in Austin , Action sport enthusiast, Single father, Full time work and Full time school.

What made you decide to pursue this area of study (i.e. Personal Fitness Training)?

I have always been fit and active. I also needed a profession with higher compensation and more flexible hours while in school. My ultimate goal is to be a Physical therapist and the knowledge base for personal training corresponds with my undergrad and graduate programs.

What made you to decide to pursue this interest in the Personal Fitness Trainer program at ACC?

It was local and my financial aid paid for it.

What was the hardest/worst part of the program?

The hardest part for me was having to go riverside campus and time commitment since I live north and have to work.

What was the best/most beneficial part of the program?

Professors that have been in the industry for years, covering all aspects of fitness, and hands on training experience.

Are you currently employed as a Personal Fitness Trainer?  If so, at what capacity?  If not, why not?

I am currently a full time trainer and class substitute for Castle Hill Specialized Fitness. I also cover membership sales shifts and assist in managerial tasks.

If you had a single piece of advice for someone interested in being a Personal Fitness Trainer, what would it be?

Be prepared to invest in your employment, it takes time and commitment without compensation. Also bring multiple skills to the table, make yourself needed.

Back to Meet a Graduate Page